Presiding officers

The first Speaker of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly was Shri C.S. Roy. In October, 1979 Shri B.B. Gurung was elected as Speaker after Shri C.S. Roy, tendered his resignation from the post.

Shri R.C. Poudyal was the Deputy Speaker from 1975 to 1977 and Shri Kalzang Gyatso from 1977 to 1979.
The second Assembly constituted in 1979, elected Shri Sonam Tshering as Speaker and Shri Lai Bahadur Basnett as the Deputy Speaker.

The Speaker of the third Assembly of Sikkim constituted in 1985 was Shri Tulshi Ram Sharma and the Deputy Speaker was Shri Ram Lepcha.

The fourth Assembly constituted n December 1989. had Shri Dorjee Tshering as Speaker and Shri Bedu Singh Panth as Deputy Speaker. However, Shri Bedu Singh Panth tendered his resignation in June 1994 and the office of the Deputy Speaker remained vacant for six months.

The fifth Assembly was constituted in December 1994. Shri Chakra Bahadur Subba was elected as Speaker and Shri Dal Bahadur Gurung as Deputy Speaker on 29th December 1994.

The sixth Assembly constituted in October 1999 elected Smt Kalawati Subba as Speaker and Shri Palden Lachungpa as Deputy Speaker on 15the October 1999.

The seventh Assembly constituted in may 2004 elected Shri D.N. Takarpa as Speaker and Shri Mingma Tshering Sherpa as Deputy Speaker on 24th May 2004.
The eighth Assembly constituted in May 2009 elected Shri K.T. Gyaltsen as the Speaker and Shri M.B. Dahal as the Deputy Speaker on 22nd May 2009.